What Art Is To Me

Gallery

cards setI used to think that art was painting, drawing and sculpture but since my daughter started studying art a few years ago I began to see things differently.  Gone are the days where art is a pretty picture.  Now it’s conceptual, has lots of meaning and touches people to the core.  Art can be broken glass on the floor, it can be a hole in the wall where people can look out at others who are unaware they are being seen, it can be a video or a silent movie, it can be handprints or how you decorate your home, it can be a photo taken with awareness, it’s in how you dress.  Photography is one of my favourite mediums and every time I look around I see photos waiting to be taken.  I painted my kitchen cupboards various shades of blue.  Art can be anything you make it.eve (2)

 

I draw and paint inspirational cards.  I love inspiring people to live their better life and I like to help people in moments when they feel a bit hopeless or when they are not sure of the next step to take going forward in their lives.  So I drew these cards with inspiration from the world and they each have a saying on them that will hopefully help to click some positive thought into motion.

I didn’t have much art training when I was growing up so I used to be skeptical about putting my art out there.  When people asked me if I’m an artist, I used to say “well….. I’m trying to be”.  What my daughter taught me about art is to “just do it”.  She taught me to stop worrying about what others think because frankly art is an opinion.  If I crave making art but never do it, nothing is ever going to be made.  I followed her encouragement and now I have two packs of cards, one of which is ready and waiting to be sold.  My children and I have started a business around these inspirational products.  We call them Good Moodles.  We are working on the website so watch this space.  In the meantime you can check some of them out here.  We have also translated the drawings onto mugs which make great gifts.  You can never have too many mugs (well that’s my theory anyway).  #feelingalittlebitproud

Art is a big part of my life.  I love it!  And finally, I say it….. I’m an artist.

mug1

 **********

 

Thanks to The Blog Tag for this week’s Topic – ART

https://www.facebook.com/groups/theblogtag/

 

 

6 thoughts on “What Art Is To Me

  1. I really love your quote “Art is an opinion” and I just might steal it if that’s okay with you? I love the way your daughter encouraged you to make art and showed you the true meaning of art.

    Like

Leave a Reply

