The Perils of Giving your Opinion on Social Media

Gallery

opinion - pirates of the caribean running awaySomething I have noticed about social media is that if you give your opinion and people don’t like it, it’s scary how aggressive they become.

I often like to put across the other person’s point of view.  The one that nobody wants to hear.  The critics only choose one perspective and then get so angry if anyone challenges that.  But not only do they get angry, they get abusive, insulting and downright rude.  People “scream” about what an idiot you are for giving that particular opinion but they don’t realise they are acting the same way.

I saw this short video clip recently which sums up what happens when you give an opinion that people disagree with. It’s not too farfetched haha (click).

opinion - social mediaSo these days when I give my opinion on something I first ask myself a question or two…..

  • Will anyone really care? (I don’t even know these people!)
  • Will my opinion make a difference? (Unlikely.  People love their own opinions and usually stick with them.)
  • Am I going to get them to change their opinion? (Probably not although there is always hope.)
  • What is my objective here? Or Why do I want to do this?
  • Is it worth my time?
  • Is it worth the aggravation (after I get all the hateful replies).

By asking a few of these questions I usually stop myself from adding my two cents worth which saves me ages in time and fear (of people’s terrible comments).

However, if it is something that is important to me I do have my say but I have my own rules about that too:

  • Don’t insult someone or be derogatory.
  • Don’t swear or be rude.
  • Don’t be aggressive.
  • State the facts.
  • Back it up with proof if necessary.
  • Read it over a few times.  Remember tone of voice doesn’t come out in a message.

Have you got any other tips or comments (preferably helpful ones)?

Have a great week.

Eve

Leave a Reply

